PI-CASC People

Past Affiliates (Project Scientists, Post-Docs, and Students)

Jason Adolf

Associate Professor of Marine Science
University of Hawai‘i, Hilo
jadolf@hawaii.edu

  Alison Ainsworth

Graduate Student, Botany
University of Hawai‘i, Mānoa
aainswor@hawaii.edu

Rosie Alegado

Assistant Researcher of Oceanography
Sea Grant Program, University of Hawai‘i, Mānoa
ralegado@hawaii.edu

  Tiffany Anderson

Post-Doc, Coastal Geology
University of Hawai‘i, Mānoa
tranders@hawaii.edu

Kamala Anthony

Graduate Student, Tropical Conservation
University of Hawai‘i, Hilo
kamalaa@hawaii.edu

  Kasey Barton

Assistant Professor of Botany
University of Hawai‘i, Mānoa
kbarton@hawaii.edu

Maoya Bassiouni

Hydrologist
Pacific Islands Water Science Center, USGS
Water Resources Engineering, OSU
bassioum@oregonstate.edu

  Kaylyn Bautista

Graduate Student
University of Guam
kaylynk@gmail.com

Kilika Bennett

Graduate student, Hawaiian Language
University of Hawai‘i, Mānoa
eb8@hawaii.edu

  Keenan Brookman

Undergraduate Student, Marine Science
University of Hawai‘i, Hilo
kwbrook@hawaii.edu

Steven Colbert

Assistant Professor of Marine Sciences
University of Hawai‘i, Hilo
colberts@hawaii.edu

  Wheatley Crawley

Undergraduate Student, Marine Science
University of Hawai‘i, Hilo
wcrawley@hawaii.edu

Nelmar Cruz

Graduate student, Applied Behavior Analysis
University of Guam
njcruz@live.com

  Phillip John R. Cruz

Graduate student, Business Administration
University of Guam
phillipcruz@triton.uog.edu

Theresa Dean

Graduate Student, Urban Planning
University of Hawai‘i, Mānoa
td33@hawaii.edu

  Nathan Demaagd

Graduate student, Economics
University of Hawai‘i, Mānoa
demaagdn@hawaii.edu

Don Drake

Professor of Botany
University of Hawai‘i, Mānoa
dondrake@hawaii.edu

  Louise Economy

Graduate student, Tropical Conservation
University of Hawai‘i, Hilo
economy@hawaii.edu

Oliver Elison Timm

Research Associate Professor of Atmospheric and Environmental Science
SUNY, Albany
oelisontimm@albany.edu

  Carlo Fezzi

Post-Doc, Environmental Economics
University of Hawai‘i, Mānoa
carlo.fezzi01@gmail.com

Cassandra-Jay Flores-Hughes

Undergraduate student, Geography and Special Ed
University of Guam
cjayflores@gmail.com

  Erik Franklin

Associate Researcher, Hawai‘i Institute of Marine Biology (HIMB)
University of Hawai‘i, Mānoa
erik.franklin@hawaii.edu

Abby Frazier

Post-Doc/Research Geographer
Institute of Pacific Islands Forestry, USDA Forest Service
abbyf@hawaii.edu

  Ruth Gates

Director, Hawai‘i Institute of Marine Biology (HIMB)
University of Hawai‘i, Mānoa
rgates@hawaii.edu

Patrick Hart

Professor of Biology
University of Hawai‘i, Hilo
pjhart@hawaii.edu

  Rose Hart

Graduate student, Tropical Conservation
University of Hawai‘i, Hilo
rosehart@hawaii.edu

Maria Haws

Assoc. Prof. of Aquaculture/Director of Pacific Aquaculture and Coastal Resource Center
University of Hawai‘i, Hilo
haws@hawaii.edu

  Hla Htun

Graduate student, Hydrology
NREM, University of Hawai‘i, Mānoa
hlahtun@hawaii.edu

James Jacobi

Biologist
Pacific Island Ecosystems Research Center, USGS
jjacobi@usgs.gov

  John Jenson

Professor of Environmental Geology
Water and Environmental Research Institute (WERI), University of Guam
jjenson@uguam.uog.edu

Chris Jury

Post-Doc, Oceanography
University of Hawai‘i, Mānoa
jurycp@hawaii.edu

  Lauren Kaiser

Graduate student, Climatology
University of Hawai‘i, Mānoa
lkaiser7@hawaii.edu

 
Cherie Kauahi

Graduate student, Tropical Conservation
University of Hawai‘i, Hilo
ckauahi@hawaii.edu

  Paul Krushelnycky

Assistant Researcher, Dept. of Plant and Environmental Protection Sciences
University of Hawai‘i, Mānoa
pauldk@hawaii.edu

Mark Lander

Asst Professor of Tropical Meteorology
Water and Environmental Research Institute (WERI), University of Guam
mlander@uguam.uog.edu

  Chandra Legdesog

Research Assistant/Graduate Student
PI-CSC, University of Guam
chandralegdesog@gmail.com

Christopher Lepczyk

Associate Professor, School of Forestry and Wildlife Sciences
Auburn University
lepczyk@auburn.edu

  Wei Liao

Post-Doc, Modeling
University of Wisconsin
wliao27@wisc.edu

Ryan Longman

Post-Doc, Climatology
University of Hawai‘i, Mānoa
rlongman@hawaii.edu

  Shayle Matsuda

Graduate Student, Marine Biology
University of Hawai‘i, Mānoa
shayle@hawaii.edu

Jeffrey Maynard

Manager
SymbioSeas/Marine Applied Research Center
maynardmarine@gmail.com

  Erin Miller

Graduate student, Environmental Science
University of Guam

Craig Nelson

Assistant Researcher of Oceanography
University of Hawai‘i, Mānoa
craig.nelson@hawaii.edu

  Alexandra Noronha

Post-Doc
University of Guam/Univ. of Texas, Austin
anoronha@jsg.utexas.edu

Joanna Norton

Graduate Student, Tropical Conservation
University of Hawai‘i, Hilo
joannanorton777@gmail.com

  Rebecca Ostertag

Professor of Biology
University of Hawai‘i, Hilo
ostertag@hawaii.edu

Ryan Perroy

Professor of Geography & Environmental Science
University of Hawai‘i, Hilo
rperroy@hawaii.edu

  Tyler Phelps

Undergraduate Student, Marine Biology
University of Hawai‘i, Hilo
phelpst@hawaii.edu

Jonathan Price

Associate Professor of Geography
University of Hawai‘i, Hilo
jpprice@hawaii.edu

  Ashley Pugh

Undergraduate Student, Marine Biology
University of Hawai‘i, Hilo

Noelani Puniwai

Affiliate Faculty, College of Agriculture, Forestry, & Natural Resource Management
University of Hawai‘i, Hilo
npuniwai@hawaii.edu

  Laurie Raymundo

Professor of Marine Biology
Marine Lab, University of Guam
ljraymundo@gmail.com

Michael Roberts

Associate Professor of Economics
University of Hawai‘i, Mānoa
mjrobert@hawaii.edu

  Lajkit Rufus

Graduate Student, Geography
University of Hawai‘i, Hilo
lrufus@hawaii.edu

Michael Samuel

Wildlife Ecologist
Wisconsin Cooperative Wildlife Research Unit, USGS
msamuel@usgs.gov

  Julia Stewart

Undergraduate Student, Marine Biology
University of Hawai‘i, Hilo

Axel Timmermann

Professor of Oceanography/International Pacific Research Center (IPRC)
University of Hawai‘i, Mānoa
axel@hawaii.edu

  Robert Toonen

Professor, Hawai‘i Institute of Marine Biology (HIMB)
University of Hawai‘i, Mānoa
toonen@hawaii.edu

Shea Uehana

Graduate Student, Tropical Conservation
University of Hawai‘i, Hilo
uehana@hawaii.edu

  Lindsay Veazey

Graduate Student, Marine Biology
University of Hawai‘i, Mānoa
lindsayv@hawaii.edu

Yuqing Wang

Professor of Meteorology/International Pacific Research Center (IPRC)
University of Hawai‘i, Mānoa
yuqing@hawaii.edu

  Matthew Widlansky

Researcher, Climate modeling
University of Hawai‘i, Mānoa/UH Sea Level Center
mwidlans@hawaii.edu

Tracy Wiegner

Associate Professor of Marine Science
University of Hawai‘i, Hilo
wiegner@hawaii.edu

  Mark Wright

Faculty Specialist, Dept. of Plant and Environmental Protection
University of Hawai‘i, Mānoa
markwrig@hawaii.edu

Chunxi Zhang

Regional Atmospheric Modeling Specialist
University of Hawai‘i, Mānoa/IPRC
chunxi@hawaii.edu